Posted by: mandie | July 31, 2008

Goodbyes (Part 2 :: South Africa)

I am home.

After three very short weeks in South Africa, I am home. Back to rainy Seattle (yes, it is raining as I write this now…typical).

The past 4 days has been some of the hardest for me. I’ve had to say goodbye way too many times.

There were many tears. Even on my part and I don’t really cry that much. This time was much harder than goodbyes in Seattle.

Like I said before, I’m not a fan of goodbyes. Especially if you don’t know when you will see the person again. After 3 weeks in South Africa we had become a family. A little bit of a crazy and weird family, but a family all the same. These people came to know more about me than many people back home know. We have seen each other in the best and worst circumstances and stood with each other through all of it. We encountered God together. We were used by God together. We know each others strengths and weaknesses. So how can it not be hard to say goodbye.

I have come to love each and everyone of my team members over the past few weeks together. I have watched God work through them. I have seen their passions, dreams, ambitions, talents, and giftings. I know that God desires to use them in amazing ways. But I won’t be there to witness it. And it breaks my heart.

To Thrive Trip 2008 :  I love you and miss you all. Each one of you has impacted my life in ways greater than you may be able to understand. I know that God has something amazing planned for each one of you and I can’t wait to see how that plays out. Come visit me in Seattle. See you later.


Leave a comment

Categories